Engineering Excellence Awards

Engineering Excellence Awards

ACEC of Kansas is currently accepting applications for the 2019 Engineering Excellence Awards Competition! The statewide awards program recognizes innovative and outstanding examples of engineering.


Please click here for the official Call for Entries Brochure and Application Form. There are a few changes to this year's application and they are described on the EEA Submission Changes Form.


ACEC of Kansas uses the same Call for Entries brochure as ACEC national. In order to apply for an award at national, your award must win at the state level first and be recommended for national entry. Using the same brochure makes it easier after the Kansas Awards are judged, for winning projects to submit their entry to the national awards program.


This year, we are accepting entries electronically! Please use this link:

There are twelve project categories:

·                 Studies, Research, and Consulting Engineering Services

·                 Building/Technology Systems

·                 Structural Systems

·                 Surveying and Mapping Technology

·                 Environmental

·                 Water and Storm Water

·                 Water Resources

·                 Transportation

·                 Special Projects

·                 Small Projects

·                 Energy

·                 Industrial and Manufacturing Processes and Facilities

Please reference the Engineering Excellence Awards Checklist before submitting your project.


The Kansas competition guidelines are the same as the national competition guidelines, except for the following:


The Kansas awards competition does NOT require you to submit the following:

a.       Photographic Display Panel.

b.       Flash drive.

c.       PowerPoint presentation.

Your Kansas project entry must be delivered to the ACEC of Kansas office no later than November 30, 2018. This allows time for the projects to be judged locally and for winning firms to submit an entry to ACEC National by the national deadline of January 4, 2019.


Winning state entries will be awarded a plaque that will be mailed to the Firm Representative contact. There will be no formal presentation of awards - ACEC of Kansas strongly encourages member firms to take the initiative to make personal contact with the project client to celebrate the win. 

The state entry fee is $130 ($230 for non-members). Please make your check payable to ACEC of Kansas. If your entry is a state winner and you wish to continue on to the national competition, we will advise on how to submit the national entry fee ($1,100 for ACEC members and $3,500 for non-members).


Deadline Dates:
November 30, 2018............Submit entry to ACEC Kansas
4, 2019................Kansas winning entries submitted to ACEC National
January 16, 201
9................Entrant’s company representatives listed on form must be available by phone
6-10, 2019........ACEC National judging of entries
May 7, 2019....
...............ACEC National Awards Presentation and Gala


Kansas winning entries to National will need to be submitted through the ACEC National EEA Online Submittal Portal. Click here to learn more details and specifics about using the online portal.

We look forward to seeing a project from your firm!

If you have any questions, please contact Rachel Nincehelser at 785-357-1824.